Monday, November 9, 2009

ACM International Programming Contest Held in Ateneo; Local Team is 3rd Place in National Division

Caption: (L-R) Dr. Rafael Saldaña (Contest Director, ADMU), Dr. Nelson Marcos (Judge, DLSU), Thomas Dy, Melody Kay Carolino, Juan Rafael Liban and Dr. Proceso Fernandez, Jr.

Link to blog post:

From the Ateneo Blueboard (11/9/09):

ACM International Programming Contest Held in Ateneo;
Local Team is 3rd Place in National Division

A team from Ateneo de Manila University won 3rd Place in the national
level during the ACM International Programming Contest (ICPC)
Asia-Manila Regional held recently.

Team 'LCD ver. 2' composed of fourth year BS Computer Science students
-- Melody Kay Carolino, Thomas Dy, and Juan Rafael Liban -- solved 8
out 10 problems during the international programming contest hosted by
Ateneo de Manila University last October 22 - 23, 2009. The team
ranked 8th in the international level and 3rd in the national level.
The team's coach is Dr. Proceso Fernandez, Jr., a faculty member of
the Department of Information Systems and Computer Science (DISCS).

Another team from ADMU, Team 'Bandwagon of Institutional R.' composed
of BS CS students -- Nikolai Andrei Banasihan, James Andrew Choa, and
Wilhensen Joseph Li -- ranked 9th place in the international level and
4th place in the national level. The team's coach is David Diy, a
faculty member of DISCS.

55 teams from 4 countries and 23 schools in Asia participated in the
ACM ICPC Asia Manila Regional competition held on October 22 - 23,
2009 in Ateneo de Manila University, with IBM as event sponsor.

Team "Mga SOGO ni E.T." from the University of the Philippines-Diliman
solved 10 out of 10 problems and was declared Champion in both the
international and national levels. The first runner-up in the
international level is Team 'Passion' from Ho Chi Minh City University
of Science, Vietnam while second runner-up is Team 'NUSSOC1' from the
National University of Singapore. Another team from U.P. Diliman, Team
'SOGOng long moy poso' got 2nd Place in the national level.

ACM stands for Association for Computing Machineries, one of the most
prestigious I.T. organizations in the world. Each year, ACM holds the
ICPC participated by thousands of teams from hundreds of universities
worldwide. From selected regional sites in 6 continents, winning teams
advance to the World Finals. The ACM ICPC World Finals will be held on
Feb 1 - 6, 2010 in Harbin, China.

The ACM ICPC is a team competition consisting of 3 collegiate students
and a coach. Each team is given a set of programming tasks (from 8 to
10 problems) to be solved in 5 hours using a standard computer and
programming languages such as C, C++, and Java.

This is the first time that a team from the Philippines has won an ACM
ICPC Asia Regional competition and the third time that a Philippine
Team has advanced to the ACM ICPC World Finals. In 2005 and 2006,
programming teams from Ateneo de Manila University competed in the ACM
ICPC World Finals.

Also, this is the third time that Ateneo de Manila University has
hosted an ACM Asia Regional Competition.

This year's Asia Manila contest director is Dr. Rafael Saldaña,
faculty member of the Mathematics Department of ADMU. The members of
the Board of Judges, from the Computing Society of the Philippines
(CSP), are as follows:

Dr. Henry Adorna (University of the Philippines - Diliman)

Dr. Caslon Chua (De La Salle University - Manila)

Dr. Pablo Manalastas (Ateneo de Manila University) (Chief Judge)

Dr. Nelson Marcos (De La Salle University - Manila)

Dr. Felix Muga II (Ateneo de Manila University)

Dr. Rafael Saldaña (Ateneo de Manila University)

Dr. Allan Sioson (Ateneo de Naga University)

Dr. Kardi Teknomo (Ateneo de Manila University)

John Michael Yap (University of the Philippines-Diliman)

Below is a list of the Top 10 Schools that participated in the 2009
ACM ICPC Asia Manila Competition:

1. University of the Philippines - Diliman (PHILIPPINES)
2. Ho Chi Minh City University of Science (VIETNAM)
3. National University of Singapore (SINGAPORE)
4. Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HONG KONG)
5. University of Hong Kong (HONG KONG)
6. Ateneo de Manila University (PHILIPPINES)
7. De La Salle University - Manila (PHILIPPINES)
8. University of the Philippines - Los Banos (PHILIPPINES)
9. Ateneo de Naga University (PHILIPPINES)
10. University of Immaculate Conception - Davao (PHILIPPINES)

The following teams received special awards:

'Passion', Ho Chi minh University of Science, Vietnam, Best Foreign Team

'Mga SOGO ni E.T.', U.P. Diliman, Best Team from the Philippines

'SOGOng long ong moy poso', U.P. Diliman, 2nd Best Team from the Philippines

'LCD ver. 2', Ateneo de Manila University, 3rd Best Team from the Philippines

'Mga SOGO ni E.T.', U.P. Diliman, Best Team from Metro Manila

'Lemorcichein', U.P. Los Banos, Best Team from Luzon (Outside Metro Manila)

'Jaguars', University of San Jose-Recoletos, Best Team from the Visayas

'You I See (Ark)', University of Immaculate Conception-Davao, Best
Team from Mindanao

The ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) traces its
roots to a competition held at Texas A&M in 1970 hosted by the Alpha
Chapter of the UPE Computer Science Honor Society. The idea quickly
gained popularity within the United States and Canada as an innovative
initiative to assist in the development of top students in the field
of computer science.

The contest evolved into a multi-tier competition with the first
Finals held at the ACM Computer Science Conference in 1977.
Headquartered at Baylor University since the 1980s, the contest has
expanded into a global network of universities hosting regional
competitions that advance teams to the World Finals.

Since IBM became sponsor in 1997, the contest has increased by a
several factors. Participation has grown to involve several tens of
thousands of the finest students and faculty in computing disciplines
at over 1,600 universities from more than 70 countries on six

The contest fosters creativity, teamwork, and innovation in building
new software programs, and enables students to test their ability to
perform under pressure. It is the oldest, largest, and most
prestigious programming contest in the world.

The organizers of the ACM ICPC Asia Manila 2009 congratulate all
winners and participants and would like to thank the faculty, staff
and student volunteers from DISCS, Mathematics Department, and the
Electronics, Communications and Computer Engineering (ECCE) Department
who made this year's contest a success.

For more information, visit the contest website:

or contact:

Dr. Rafael P. Saldaña
Contest Director
ACM ICPC Asia Programming Contest - Manila Site
Rm. 317, SEC Bld. A
Mathematics Department
School of Science and Engineering
Ateneo de Manila University Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1108
Tel. +63 2 4266125
Fax. +63 2 4266125
Mobile: +63 928 5043121


No comments: