Tuesday, July 3, 2007

The CSP Execom Meeting

Although I am on sabbatical leave (see "Sabbatical Leave", 6/28/07) I am still actively involved in several professional and service organizations. One of them is the Computing Society of the Philippines (http://www.csp.org.ph) or CSP. I was the president of CSP for 3 years (from early 2004 to early 2007). During the elections of CSP officers held during the 7th Philippine Computing Science Congress (PCSC 2008), the annual scientific convention of the CSP, at the Boracay Regency Resort and Convention Center, in the famous island of Boracay, Philippines, I gave up the CSP presidency and I accepted the position of CSP treasurer. Hence, I am still in the CSP Executive Committee, composed the president (Jimmy or Dr. Jaime Caro of the University of the Philippines), the vice-president (Caslon or Dr. Caslon Chua of De La Salle University), the secretary (Henri or Dr. Henri Adorna fo the University of the Philippines-Diliman), and myself (Raffy or Dr. Rafael Saldana of Ateneo de Manila University).

Yesterday (7/3/07) the CSP Executive Committee (or EXECOM) met yesterday at Ateneo in Loyola Heights. We discussed the following items:

1. PCSC 2008 (8th Philippine Computing Science Congress)
2. ICMSB 2008 (10th International Conference on Molecular Systems Biology)
3. APIO/IOI (Asia Pacific Informatics Olympiad/International Olympiad on Informatics)
4. ACM Philippine National Intercollegiate Programming Competition
5. Philippine Computing Journal (PCJ)
6. Philippine Journal of Information Technology (PJIT)
7. Other Matters

Felix (Dr. Felix Muga II of Ateneo) was also present during the CSP Execom Meeting since he is a member of the CSP Board of Trustees. The other members of the Board aside from Jimmy, Caslon, Henri, Felix and myself, are: Arnie (Dr. Arnulfo Azcarraga), Pros (Prospero Naval of the University of the Philippines-Diliman), Fred (Frederick Kintanar of Infoweapons Corp. in Cebu City), Elmer (Dr. Elmer Maravillas of Cebu Institute of Technology).

The CSP Board maintains an e-group: http://groups.yahoo.com/groups/csp_board

The address of the CSP members' e-group is http://groups/yahoo.com/groups/csp_members

{Draft: 7/4/07}

No comments: